‘Adelaide Derby’ highlights Australia Cup 2022 Round of 16 draw

The final matchday in the Round of 32 of the Australia Cup 2022 took place on Wednesday evening, with four clubs booking their place in the last sixteen following games held in Tasmania, New South Wales, Queensland, and Victoria.

In Tasmania, Wellington Phoenix FC defeated hosts Devonport City FC (TAS) 4-0 at Valley Road to seal their place in the next round.

In Victoria, defending Australia Cup Winners Melbourne Victory FC suffered an early exit in this year’s competition, bowing out 2-1 to reigning Isuzu UTE A-League Men’s Champions Western United FC.

In New South Wales, Sydney United 58 FC (NSW) advanced to the Round of 16 courtesy of a 3-0 win over Monaro Panthers FC from the ACT, while in Queensland, Peninsula Power FC (QLD) punched their ticket to the next phase courtesy of a 4-1 win over NWS Spirit FC (NSW).

Australia Cup Round of 16 Fixtures - How to Watch

Immediately after full-time in the final four fixtures of the Round of 32, new Football Australia Chief Football Officer, Ernie Merrick, helped to conduct the Round of 16 draw from Network 10’s headquarters in Sydney.

The draw threw up some scintillating ties, highlighted by an ‘Adelaide Derby’ between famous South Australian club Adelaide City FC (SA) against A-League outfit and three-time Australia Cup Winners Adelaide United FC.

Indeed, South Australia will be a focal point for the Round of 16, with Modbury Jets SC (SA) from the second tier of South Australian football welcoming the A-League’s Macarthur FC, mentored by Dwight Yorke, to the city of churches.

There will be an all A-League meeting between Melbourne City FC and Wellington Phoenix FC, while Oakleigh Cannons FC (VIC) and Brisbane City FC (QLD) will both fancy their chances to advance to the quarter final stage when they go head-to-head in Victoria. 

Bentleigh Greens SC (VIC) will seek to slay an A-League giant when Sydney FC arrive at Kingston Heath Soccer Complex, while Peninsula Power FC (QLD) will be gunning to back-up their Round of 32 heroics when they welcome an equally inspired Green Gully SC (VIC) outfit to the Sunshine State.

Sydney United 58 FC (NSW) will relish the opportunity to tackle an A-League side when they meet Western United FC in New South Wales, while Avondale FC (VIC) will also have the chance to produce a ‘Cupset’ when they challenge Brisbane Roar FC in Victoria.

The match schedule for the Round of 16 of the Australia Cup 2022 will be released over the coming days, with the latest news, updates, and ticket information available from the official Australia Cup website.

All Australia Cup 2022 Final Rounds matches will be broadcast LIVE and FREE on 10 Play, thanks to Football Australia’s Broadcast Partner, Network 10.

Australia Cup 2022 – Round of 16 Fixtures: 

Home Club


Away Club

Modbury Jets SC (SA)


Macarthur FC

Melbourne City FC


Wellington Phoenix FC

Oakleigh Cannons FC (VIC)


Brisbane City FC (QLD)

Adelaide City FC (SA)


Adelaide United FC

Bentleigh Greens SC (VIC)


Sydney FC

Peninsula Power FC (QLD)


Green Gully SC (VIC)

Sydney United 58 FC (NSW)


Western United FC

Avondale FC (VIC)


Brisbane Roar FC

Australia Cup 2022 Match Schedule Summary*
Matches will be scheduled across the match dates shown in the table below, which will include enhanced production of mid-week match nights and more weekend Australia Cup football than ever before.


Round of 16**

Quarter Finals***

Semi Finals***


8 matches, 2 weeks

4 matches, 1 week

2 matches, 1 week

1 match

10 August

27 August

10 September

1 October

13 August

28 August

11 September


14 August

30 August

13 September


17 August

31 August

14 September