Australia Cup Preliminary Rounds: State of Play

There are just ten spots left to fill in the 2022 Australia Cup Round of 32!

Here's how things stand heading into the final handful of qualifying matches.


Victoria's five representatives for the 2022 Australia Cup Final Rounds have been locked in.

Oakleigh Cannons, Green Gully & Heidelberg United, Bentleigh Greens and Avondale have all booked their spot in the Round of 32 following Preliminary Round 7 wins.

Victoria's five qualifiers currently occupy five of the top seven positions on the NPL Victoria standings.

Oakleigh Cannons
Green Gully
Heidelberg United
Bentleigh Greens

Check out Victorian Preliminary Round Results HERE

New South Wales

New South Wales' Australia Cup Round of 32 qualifiers have been confirmed with Wollongong United,
Bonnyrigg White Eagles, NWS Spirit & Sydney United 58 set for the national stage.

Sydney United are the only NPL NSW club to qualify for this year's Final Rounds, they are joined by NSW League One outfits Bonnyrigg White Eagles and NWS Spirit .

Giant killers, Wollongong United who beat the likes of Blacktown City and St George City on their cup run are the first Illawarra Premier League side to ever qualify for the Round of 32.

Wollongong United FC
Bonnyrigg White Eagles FC
NWS Spirit FC
Sydney United 58

Check out NSW Preliminary Round Results HERE


Eight clubs remain in Queensland and are set to battle it out for the states final four Round of 32 positions.

Last year's Round of 32 qualifier Lions face Brisbane City at CTM Stadium in a repeat of last year's Preliminary Round 7 tie.

Peninsula Power, who also qualified for the 2021 Finals Rounds are on the road against FQPL1 league leaders Rochedale Rovers.

The winner of Logan Lightning and Sunshine Coast Fire will qualify for the Round of 32 for the first time in their history in South East Queensland's final Preliminary Round 7 tie.

In the State's north Edge Hill United and Magpies Crusaders United will go head-to-head on July 2, with both chasing a second Finals Round appearance.

Queensland Preliminary Round 7 Fixtures
Brisbane City v Lions FC
Rochedale Rovers v Peninsula Power
Logan Lightning v Sunshine Coast Fire
Edge Hill United v Magpies Crusaders United

Check out Queensland Preliminary Round Fixtures HERE

South Australia

The final four teams know what stands between and an Australia Cup Round of 32 berth following Friday's South Australian Qualifying Finals draw.

Eastern United will host Adelaide City while Vipers will host Modbury Jets in the two Qualifying Finals clashes.

Adelaide City are the only RAA NPLSA side still alive in the cup while SA State League One Modbury Jets & Eastern United as well as State League Two Vipers FC are just one win away from a first ever Round of 32 berth.

The two Qualifying Finals will be played on Tuesday the 21st and Wednesday the 22nd of June.

SA Qualifying Finals
Eastern United v Adelaide City
Vipers FC v Modbury Jets

Check out South Australia Preliminary Round Fixtures HERE

Western Australia

Four sides remain to battle it out for two Final Rounds spots in the West.

Sorrento FC will host Cockburn City while Armadale face Bayswater in the final pair of Preliminary Round Fixtures in WA.

Both of last year’s Round of 32 entrants Floreat Athena and ECU Joondalup have already been eliminated from this year’s qualifiers.

The WA Qualifying Finals will be played on Tuesday the 21st and Wednesday the 22nd of June.

Australia Cup WA Qualifying Final Fixtures
Sorrento FC v Cockburn City
Armadale SC v Bayswater City

Check out WA Preliminary Round Fixtures HERE 

Northern New South Wales

Four NPL Northern NSW sides are set to battle it out for two Australia Cup Round of 32 positions on Wednesday night.

Last year's two Final Rounds entrants are both on the road in search of back-to-back Round of 32 appearances with Newcastle Olympic visiting Cooks Hill United and Broadmeadow away against Maitland.

Australia Cup NNSW Preliminary Round 7 Fixtures

Cooks Hill United v Newcastle Olympic
Maitland FC v Broadmeadow Magic

Check out NNSW Preliminary Round Fixtures HERE

Capital Football

Monaro Panthers are the first Member Federation Club to book a spot in this year's Australia Cup Round of 32.

The Panthers defeated West Canberra Wanderers 3-1 after Extra Time in the Capital Football Qualifying Final to secure a first ever Finals Rounds appearance.


Devonport Strikers secured the Apple Isle's sole Round of 32 slot after defeating South Hobart 3-0 in the Lakoseljac Cup Final.

The Strikers return to the Final Rounds after being forced to forfeit their Round of 32 clash last season as a result of COVID enforced restrictions in Tasmania.

Devonport Strikers

Check out Tasmania Preliminary Round Results HERE

Northern Territory

Mindil Aces have qualified for the Australia Cup Round of 32 for the first time in their history after defeating Casuarina FC at Darwin Football Stadium for the NT's sole position in the Round of 32.

Mindil Aces

Check out NT Preliminary Round Results HERE